Being in a vehicle wreck is a terrifying experience—those who survive are considered to be the lucky ones. But from a practical standpoint, experiencing a car accident is also incredibly expensive.
A split-second crash can leave you with thousands of dollars in expenses for medical bills and vehicle repair costs. For most people, their auto insurance provider is there in situations like this to help offset the costs associated with a wreck.
But what if you don’t have car insurance in Louisiana?
If you don’t have car insurance in Louisiana, and you get into a crash that wasn’t your fault, your right to financial recovery will be affected by a state statute known as the “No Pay, No Play” law.
What Is Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” Law?
Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law restricts how much you can recover after a car accident if you are uninsured or underinsured.
If you are injured in a car crash in Louisiana, and you do not have the mandatory minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage, you cannot recover:
- Up to the first $15,000 in bodily injury damages
- Up to the first $25,000 in property damage
It does not matter that the other driver was at fault in the accident for the “No Pay, No Play” rule to apply. Even if the other motorist was completely responsible for the crash and your resulting injuries, you are still barred from recovering the first $15,000 in injury costs and the first $25,000 in vehicle damage costs.
There are, however, a few exceptions to Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” statute.
Can I Still Recover Compensation if I Don’t Have Auto Insurance in Louisiana?
When you don’t have auto insurance and you get into an accident in Baton Rouge or anywhere else in the state, there is a strong possibility you won’t be able to recover financial compensation from the other party for your damages.
However, if your injuries are severe and significant, requiring more than $15,000 worth of medical treatment, you may still have a claim. These are complex auto insurance situations, but one of the attorneys from Bianca | Matkins can walk you through the process. We’ll make sure you are able to obtain the full amount of compensation the law entitles you to receive.
There are other exceptional scenarios that may also entitle you to financial compensation, even if you don’t have car insurance in Louisiana. In situations involving an intoxicated driver, an out-of-state driver from a state that doesn’t require liability insurance, a hit and run incident, or other exceptions written into the 2011 statute, you may still have a valid claim for damages. Be sure to speak with a car accident attorney right away so you’re clear on your rights in your particular case.
Louisiana Auto Insurance Requirements
The Louisiana Department of Insurance requires all motor vehicle owners in the state to carry liability insurance. Liability coverage pays for bodily injury and property damage resulting from an accident for which you are responsible. Your liability coverage kicks in if you, a family member, or someone else driving your vehicle causes damage or injury to another party.
The Louisiana liability insurance minimums are referred to as the “15/30/25 rule.” This means motorists must carry coverage in an amount equal to or greater than these minimum dollar amounts:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for damage to a vehicle or other property
There are other types of auto insurance coverage that a policyholder can opt-in for, including medical expense coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, comprehensive coverage, and collision coverage. These provide an added layer of security for motorists who encounter specific types of scenarios that may require them to pay more out of pocket.
Because liability coverage is mandatory in Louisiana, there are fines for knowingly operating a motor vehicle without sufficient coverage.
Those in violation of Louisiana car insurance laws may face fines of $500 to $1,000, suspended driving privileges, vehicle impounding, vehicle registration revocation, and/or license plate cancellation. The “No Pay, No Play” is also a penalty for not meeting the state requirements for minimum liability auto insurance coverage.
We Can Help—Even if You Don’t Have Auto Insurance
At Bianca | Matkins, we know how expensive auto insurance can be. Not everyone has the economic means to afford the coverage required by the state. We know that many people carry policies that have recently lapsed, and are waiting to get back on their feet financially before they renew their policies.
If you did not have an active liability insurance policy and were involved in an accident that wasn’t your fault, come talk to us.
It is extremely difficult to face steep medical bills for severe injuries you worry you can’t afford to treat. Our Baton Rouge car accident lawyers are compassionate and understanding of the needs of those injured in car wrecks caused by negligent drivers. We can help you assess your options at no cost to you.
Contact us for a free consultation to discuss your case. We can inform you of your options for recovery. If you are eligible to recover compensation, we can fight to get you the maximum amount you deserve.