We're Injury Lawyers, with real trial experience.

How To Look Up an Accident Report in Louisiana 

Published on Jun 4, 2024 at 7:06 pm in Car Accident.

According to data collected from Louisiana State University (LSU), in 2022, traffic accidents cost the residents here in the Bayou State $10.65 billion. That breaks down to around $3,439 for each person. Those collisions resulted in injuries, property damage, and fatalities.

A report should be generated for every crash, especially one involving injuries. That document will become a crucial piece of evidence for making liability determinations in any future insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit. In fact, it might be the only piece of authoritative evidence. That is why it is essential for anyone who is involved in a car crash to know how to look up an accident report in Louisiana.

What Information Does a Crash Report Contain?

If you were involved in a wreck, your first priority should be to check for injuries and call 911 for help. Even if no one appears to be hurt, you should still have a police officer respond to the crash scene. Taking care of this is the best way to ensure an official accident report is created.

Crash reports contain a lot of crucial information, including the following:

  • Location of the accident
  • Suspected cause of the crash
  • Time of the incident
  • People involved in the collision
  • Responding officer’s name and contact details
  • Make and models of the cars involved
  • Drivers’ insurance companies
  • Names and phone numbers of any eyewitnesses
  • Road conditions and weather

These reports also generally document whether anyone was issued a traffic violation as a result of the accident. Additionally, it will state if drugs or alcohol were suspected as a contributing factor in the collision.

All of these above-referenced details could greatly assist you or your attorney in determining where the fault lies and, thus, who’s liable for any damages you sustained – factors that impact whether you can take legal action to recover compensation.

Where To Get a Copy of Your Louisiana Accident Report

Unlike a traffic citation, a law enforcement officer won’t give you a copy of your traffic collision report at the scene of the crash. Instead, you have to make a special request for it. Once completed, police agencies store the report electronically for easy access by any interested parties.

To obtain your crash report, you’ll need to first determine which agency responded to the crash. Most responding officers will provide motorists involved in collisions with a business card with their contact details and their crash or report identification number while onsite. Additionally, they typically provide guidance as to how to obtain a copy of the report and when it will be completed. If you are not readily offered this information, ask for it.

Here are some details to help you in obtaining your crash report if one of the following police agencies responded to the scene of your wreck:

Louisiana State Police

Collisions that occur on our state’s major roadways, including highways and interstates, are responded to by the Louisiana State Police. If one of this agency’s officers came to your crash scene, you will need to visit the Louisiana State Police website to request your report.

You will need to have the following information on hand to successfully request a Louisiana State Police accident report:

  • Your name and driver’s license number
  • Name of parish or location where the crash occurred
  • Date of the accident
  • The case number
  • The license plate numbers of the vehicles involved in the collision

The current cost for that report is $11.50. It might take up to seven days for the state law enforcement agency to email you a downloadable file containing that document, along with any photographs the responding officer took at the accident scene, once requested.

Baton Rouge Police Department

If your accident occurred within the city limits of Baton Rouge, you can request a report online or in person at the department’s headquarters by paying $7.50 and $1 for witness statements. They are typically ready ten days after your crash occurred.

New Orleans Police Department

If your crash happened in the Big Easy, you can follow the instructions on the New Orleans Police Department website to access your report online or in person.

Accessing Accident Reports Made by Other Law Enforcement Agencies in LA

If your crash occurred in other Louisiana parishes, municipalities (cities), or other jurisdictions, you should consider visiting that corresponding area’s police department website to review the policies and procedures for securing your crash report. Alternatively, you may want to ask your insurer if they already have access to it. They may be able to send it to you without you having to request it yourself.

Building a Strong Personal Injury Case in Louisiana

A traffic accident can leave victims with medical expenses. It can also result in damage to your vehicle and lost wages. All of those are damages for which you can potentially seek a remedy through the filing of an insurance claim or lawsuit. That is where the support of a law firm like Bianca | Matkins comes into play.

When we build your traffic accident case, obtaining a copy of that crash report is vital. That will become the foundation of the case. Additionally, building a traffic case in Louisiana will include the following elements:

  • Eyewitness statements
  • Photos
  • Videos
  • Accident reconstruction
  • A survey of the crash scene
  • Physical evidence
  • Medical reports
  • Wage statements
  • Additional expenses

When armed with the crash report and all the supporting documentation, it will be easier for you or your attorney to seek an out-of-court settlement if you are entitled to one.

A Limited Statute of Limitations Applies to Baton Rouge Car Crash Cases

Although the various agencies will keep your collision report on file indefinitely, it’s imperative that you request yours as quickly as possible. The statute of limitations for filing an accident claim in Louisiana is one year. The clock starts ticking on the date of the crash. You could forfeit any right you may have to compensation if you do not file a claim within that year.

That is why you want to act quickly if you plan to take legal action to recover compensation for your losses. That process can start with a call to Bianca | Matkins. We will discuss the merits of your case to determine the best way forward.

 

Free Case Review

Call us or fill out the form below to schedule a free and confidential case evaluation where we’ll hear your story and help you understand your legal options, advising you on what steps you can take next. If we can help with the next steps required, we will be happy to do so.

Legal & Firm News

Symptoms To Look for After a Fall

Accidents happen every day throughout Baton Rouge. Unfortunately, falls are some of the most common injury incidents that occur.   It’s best not to assume you’re okay after a fall. Instead, you’ll want to monitor for signs of potential injuries, whether you have slipped on a wet floor or tripped in a parking lot or an […]

Read More

Is Medical Malpractice Civil or Criminal?

While anyone can make a mistake,  ones that medical practitioners make can have significant adverse consequences for patient health. Fortunately, Louisiana law allows patients who suffer additional injuries, develop further illnesses, or die while under the care of a healthcare provider to take legal action by filing a medical malpractice case against the party whose […]

Read More

How To Look Up an Accident Report in Louisiana 

According to data collected from Louisiana State University (LSU), in 2022, traffic accidents cost the residents here in the Bayou State $10.65 billion. That breaks down to around $3,439 for each person. Those collisions resulted in injuries, property damage, and fatalities. A report should be generated for every crash, especially one involving injuries. That document […]

Read More